Convinced

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.–Romans 8:38-39

Inspired by Leftovers – Mexican Chicken Cakes

Leave a comment

I LOVE Maryland Lump Crab Cakes, especially the ones you can get at Legal Sea Foods. Lots of lump crabmeat, spiced up, breaded and fried equals DELICIOUS! Well, it’s not easy to get to Legal Sea Foods where I live, but I did get inspired by my nostalgic flashback.

I had some chicken leftover from chicken quesadillas that we made a couple of nights ago and needed to use the rest of the chicken. I didn’t have any more tortillas, so I wondered how Mexican Chicken Cakes would taste. So, I used my food processor to pulse the shredded chicken, cilantro, and red onion. I then added a bit more spice, a couple of eggs, and breadcrumbs, and came up with my new favorite leftover-inspired recipe! The orange slices added a nice citrus zing to the dish.

Here’s the recipe (approximately)

Ingredients:
2 cups shredded chicken breasts
1/4 cup fresh cilantro, rough chopped
1/4 of a small red onion
2 eggs
1/2 cup Italian style breadcrumbs
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp cumin
1 TBS olive oil (any cooking oil will do)
Orange slices (for garnish)

Directions:
1. Heat oil in nonstick pan on medium heat.

2. Add chicken, cilantro and onion to food processor. Pulse a couple of times to a fine consistency. If you don’t have a food processor, just finely chop these ingredients.

 3. In medium bowl, combine chicken mixture with rest of ingredients until well incorporated.

4. Form into 4 patties (not too thick), and cook until golden brown, about 3-4 minutes each side.

I’m definitely making these again soon. Next time, I’m gonna try a Mexican-inspired sauce to go with this recipe, and have it as a sandwich with lettuce, tomato, and a couple avocado slices. Enjoy!

Author: Kristie

I am a North Carolina native (eastern NC barbecue is where it's at!) and graduate of NC State University (Go Wolfpack!) with a degree in history. I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves cooking, hospitality, reading, and long walks with my hubby. We lived in the beautiful Cayman Islands for 8 years but now we're settled in Washington, DC and loving it!

Leave a Reply

